Hillman Cup Whitewash

Ley Hill were unfortunate to draw last years runners-up West Berkshire in the preliminary round of the Hillman Cup. We were also drawn away, and on an extremely windy Saturday in March we made the 90 minute journey to the hosts course near Newbury. We were also hampered by the absence of captain Ian Burrows and regular winner Les Kimber.

The Ley Hill team did not cope well with the long Berkshire course and we succumed to a dismal 7-0 defeat.

Rik Rankin lost to Greg Collins 6&5

Richard Lewis lost to Luke Presto 5&3

Paul Watkins lost to Derek Smith 4&3

Andy Ringrose lost to Tony Athawes 3&1

Bill Salkeld lost to Mark Ramos 5&3

Ralph Bartlett lost to Fred Stephens 2&1

Peter Hope lost to Nigel Huszarik 8&7

We hope for better luck in the plate competition where we were runners-up in 2018!